

for all inclusions under CEACM please contact Adnan Ibrahimbegovic adnan.ibrahimbegovic@utc.fr

2021 News from CEACM URL: http://www.gf.unsa.ba/web/

he CEACM Central European Association for Computational Mechanics, has created new CEACM Awards to honor active researchers from CEACM partner countries, regrouping (in alphabetical order) Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia and Slovenia. In particular, the senior scientists are honored by newly created CEACM Prof. Mang Award and young researchers by CEACM Best Thesis Award. The highest honor by CEACM is named after its founding father Herbert Mang, Professor at TU Wien, and its first President 1992-99. The CEACM Prof. Mang Award is bestowed each year to honor an outstanding individual who has demonstrated sustained efforts in advancing either theoretical or practical aspects of computational mechanics and who provided strong leadership either in an academic environment or in different industrial applications.



The CEACM Young Researcher Award was initiated by CEACM to honor an exceptional contribution of a young scientist, who has completed his/her doctoral studies in the broad domain of Computational Mechanics within the year of the award call. The first CEACM Awards were attributed in the meeting of the CEACM Executive Board that was reunited on March 11, 2022 in online meeting (Figure 1).

Figure 1: CEACM Board Online Meeting, March 11, 2022



Figure 2: Vladimír KÖMPIŠ Past-President CEACM CEACM Prof. Mang Award



Figure 3: Adnan Ibrahimbegovic President CEACM CEACM Prof. Mang Award



Figure 4: Henrik T. Sykora CEACM Best Thesis Award

Among the CEACM laureates are Vladimír KOMPIŠ (Figure 2) and Adnan IBRAHIMBEGOVIC (Figure 3) for CEACM Prof. Mang Award, and Henrik T. Sykora (Figure 4) for CEACM Best Thesis Award.

The current and future scientific activities of CEACM concern two CEACM sponsored scientific conferences. The first conference that will take place 28-30 September 2022 in Croatian City of Pula is 10th ICCSM Int. Congress of Croatian Society of Mechanics. The main contact is CEACM Board Croatian representative, Prof. Zdenko Tonković (e-mail: zdenko.tonkovic@fsb.hr). Within the framework of this meeting, there is a special session in honor of Professor Jurica Sorić, past CEACM president and longtime Croatian representative in the CEACM Board. This session, co-organized by Adnan Ibrahimbegovic, current CEACM president, Bernhard Pichler, past CEACM president, and Zdenko Tonković, is entitled 'Advanced Numerical Methods in Structural Analysis:

Recent Developments and Future Challenges', seeking to gather the contributions from different domains of expertise of Prof. Sorić. More information is given at meeting website: www.iccsm2021.fsb.hr.

The second conference is ECCOMAS MSF 2023, the 6th International Conference on Multi-scale Computational Methods for Solids and Fluids, which will take place in June 28-30, 2023. This conference is already 6th in a long series is jointly organized by University of Sarajevo, Academy of Sciences and Arts of Bosnia and Herzegovina and UT Compiegne. More information is given at meeting website: www.gf.unsa.ba/eccomas-msf-2023.

We sincerely hope to welcome you at each of these two meeting that should take place onsite, as opposed to the current practice of (virtual) online meetings, or at least in hybrid format that was used in organizing ECCOMAS MSF 2021 meeting (website: www.gf.unsa.ba/eccomas-msf-2021).