

Central European Association for Computational Mechanics

2023 News from CEACM: Central European Association for Computational Mechanics (URL: http://www.gf.unsa.ba/web/)

The Central European Association for Computational Mechanics (CEACM), has attributed newly created CEACM Awards to honor active researchers from CEACM partner countries, regrouping (in alphabetical order): Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia and Slovenia. This year, the meeting was held in early March 2023. Three different types of awards are given by CEACM. In particular, the senior scientists are honored by CEACM Prof. Mang Award, the established scientists by CEACM Computational Mechanics Award and young researchers by CEACM Best Thesis Award.

The CEACM Prof. Mang Award is the highest honor attributed by CEACM. It is named after the association founding father Herbert Mang, Professor at TU Wien, and its first President 1992-99. The CEACM Prof. Mang Award is bestowed each year to honor an outstanding individual who has demonstrated sustained efforts in advancing either theoretical or practical aspects of computational mechanics and who provided strong leadership either in academic environment or in different industrial applications. This award was given for the first time in 2022 to two CEACM members: Prof. Vladimír KOMPIŠ, one of the CEACM founding fathers, and Prof. Adnan IBRAHIMBEGOVIC, the current CEACM president. The CEACM scientific board again decided this year to attribute two Prof. Mang Awards to distinguished colleagues who have contributed to a large extent to many CEACM activities and served as its representatives in either IACM or ECCOMAS associations. The first award is given to Josef EBERHARDSTEINER (Fig. 1). Professor of Civil Engineering at TU Wien, who has provided a long time CEACM representation in ECCOMAS, and who currently serves as CEACM representative in ECCOMAS Management Board. The second award is given to Jurica SORIC (Fig. 2), Professor of Mechanical Engineering at University of Zagreb, who served as CEACM president.

The board also decided the CEACM Computational Mechanics award for the established scientists, which is attributed for the first time this year. The CEACM Computational Mechanics Award is bestowed to honor exceptional individual contributions not only to traditional but also to broader fields of interest to Computational Mechanics that reached notoriety within the region and internationally. The winner is Jože KORELC (Fig. 3), Professor of Structural Engineering at Department of Civil Engineering, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia. Jože is recognized for his numerous scientific contributions, and most importantly the development of a scientific software AceFEM, which is distributed as a part of Mathematica software package (URL: https://www.wolfram.com/products/applications/acefem/) and currently used by many research groups world-wide for efficient developments of new formulations in Computational Mechanics.

The CEACM scientific board finally attributed a Young Researcher Award, which was created by CEACM to honor an exceptional contribution of a young scientist, who has completed his/her doctoral thesis in the broad domain of Computational Mechanics within the year of the award call. The award winner is Richard SCHUSSNIG (Fig. 4), who completed his thesis supervised by Prof. Thomas-Peter Fries at TU Graz in the domain of fluid-flow computations in application to hemodynamics. This thesis is nominated by CEACM for the ECCOMAS Best Thesis Award 2022 competition and the winner is awarded with a stipend to cover the participation cost in ECCOMAS MSF 2023, which is this year's CEACM special interest conference.

ECCOMAS MSF 2023 (which stands for: International Conference on Computational Methods for Solids and Fluids 2023) is already 6th in a long series of meeting, which is this year jointly organized by University of Sarajevo, Academy of Sciences and Arts of Bosnia and Herzegovina and UT Compiegne. The ECCOMAS MSF 2023 meeting will take place in June 25-27, 2023, in Bosnia capital, Sarajevo. It is featuring a number of distinguished lectures (by Professors Ladeveze, Mang, Matthies, Ohayon, Pimenta, Damjanovic, Stergiopulos, Trovaluschi, Hellmich, Chamoin, Ibrahimbegovic) and 17 organized Mini-Symposia on many different topics in the domain. More information is given at the meeting website: https://eccomas.gf.unsa.ba/msf-2023/.



Fig. 1 Josef EBERHARDSTEINER, CEACM Prof. Mang Award



Fig. 2. Jurica SORIC, CEACM Prof. Mang Award



Fig. 3 Joze KORELC, CEACM Computational Mechanics Award



Fig. 4. Richard Schussnig, CEACM Best Thesis Award